A Lost Prince Album Will Be Released This Summer

The late funk icon’s estate has announced that ‘Welcome 2 America’ will arrive on July 30 via the Sony label Legacy Recordings. Recorded in 2010, it’ll feature 11 unreleased Prince originals along with a cover of Soul Asylum’s Stand Up and B Strong. Some songs were either performed live by the star or featured on webcasts or as radio premieres.

As a preview, head below to stream the five-and-a-half minute title track, a spacey, soulful offering with spoken word lyrics that hit out at social media, celebrity culture, and more. A statement posted to Prince’s official Facebook page said:

Prince’s enigmatic and prescient statement album ‘Welcome 2 America’ will be released July 30, 2021, by The Prince Estate and Sony Legacy Recordings. The Deluxe Edition includes the previously unreleased studio album and a full 2011 Prince concert at The Forum on Blu-ray.

Recorded in 2010 before the Welcome 2 America Tour, the studio album ‘Welcome 2 America’ documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice.

Welcome 2 America features some of Prince’s only studio collaborations with bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer CrC, and GRAMMY-nominated engineer Jason Agel, plus vocals by NPG singers Shelby J., Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo Dease and co-production by Morris Hayes.

“The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead,” Prince said in a 2010 statement released by the estate.

‘Welcome 2 America’ tracklist:

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years from Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)
  7. Check the Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free
READ  ITV Have Commissioned A New Drama About The Post Office Scandal

‘Welcome 2 America’ (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011) Blu-ray tracklist:

  • Joy in Repetition
  • Brown Skin (India.Arie cover)
  • 17 Days
  • Shhh
  • Controversy
  • Theme from “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard cover)
  • What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover)
  • Partyman
  • Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan cover)
  • Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
  • Let’s Go Crazy
  • Delirious
  • 1999
  • Little Red Corvette
  • Purple Rain
  • The Bird (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  • Jungle Love (The Time cover – Prince composition)
  • A Love Bizarre (Sheila E. cover – Prince composition)
  • Kiss
  • Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
  • Inglewood Swinging (cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging”)
  • Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
  • More Than This (Roxy Music cover)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.