Football lawmakers, IFAB confirms change in handball rule

The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has announced that the incidents of accidental handball that lead to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity, will no longer be considered an offence.

Football’s law-making body confirmed this today in a statement.

The controversial section of the handball law was enforced during the Premier League game between Fulham and Tottenham on Thursday night.

Fulham had a goal by Josh Maja ruled out, when the ball cannoned into the hand of his team-mate Mario Lemina from a Davinson Sanchez clearance.

IFAB has now agreed on the change, which comes into effect from .

However, competitions have the flexibility to introduce changes before that date.

An IFAB statement read: “As the interpretation of handball incidents has not always been consistent due to incorrect applications of the law, the members confirmed that not every touch of a ’s hand/arm with the ball is an offence.”

It added: “Accidental handball that leads to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offence.”

It will remain a handball offence if a player scores accidentally with their hand or arm, or uses their hand or arm directly before scoring.

READ  Olympiacos vs Arsenal: ‘There are areas we can hit to harm them’ – Sokratis

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*